{Runner’s High}

I often hear people talk about getting a “runner’s high”. This high is the feeling that you could run forever, as though your feet have wings, your legs and lungs won’t tire, and you could effortlessly take flight for miles and miles. Runner’s live for these, as they provide that harmonious moment where we realize again why we truly love running.

I was fortunate to have one of those runner’s highs today! To beat the heat, I hit the gym and hopped on the treadmill for a quick run while my boys were out running errands. I briefly considered not going, as having the house to myself sounded quite fantastic, and ladies night out last night kept me up till 2:30am. But, thankfully, I slipped into my favorite running attire, laced up my shoes, and headed out.

Although I started out at a conservative pace, I steadily increased my speed till I was rocking an 8:30 pace! This is the 5k pace I currently strive for in races, but it generally wears me out pretty quickly. Not today! It felt great! I felt like I could have run 10 miles if I’d had the time! Although 4.66 miles was my stopping point as I had to get home, I’m still basking in the glow of my happy runners high.

Thank goodness for that run! A runner’s high is the best mood booster a girl could ask for, and lack of sleep or not, I’m ready to take on the rest of my day! Wishing everyone a similar experience on your next run!

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “{Runner’s High}

  1. i LOVE a good run! sometimes the heat sucks all the energy out of me, and so I am always extremely thankful when I head out on a good run. What I especially love is night runs, and then my adrenaline is CRANKING for the next couple hours and I feel amazing all night and usually all throughout the next morning as well…i definitely recommend.

    Like

  2. That is the BEST feeling ever, when you get that rush come over your whole body. It starts at the top of your head and then it flows down to the bottom of your toes. And suddenly, you feel as if you could run forever. LOVE IT!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

