{Morning Glory}

Let me start by saying, I absolutely LOVE where I live! This morning was a perfect reminder as to why.

Although many people relish the opportunity to sleep in on their weekend mornings, I decided to take the opportunity to head over to Clearwater Beach and run the causeway to get some quality hill training in. The beach is only about a 20 minute drive with no traffic, so it’s an easy commute over early in the morning. Once beach traffic starts though, all bets are off.

So I grabbed some McDo oatmeal, parked on the beach side of the causeway, and started on my way!

20120812-092106.jpg

I parked by the marina right across from Pier 60, about a mile from the big bridge. One thing I notice when I fuel before running is that I really effects my speed and endurance in such a positive way! Typically when I get up on weekdays to run, it’s so early that I do not eat until after. Race mornings, and anytime I travel to train, oatmeal is my staple. So my 1st mile I pounded out at a solid 8:45 pace, and even with the bridge and a couple of stops for photo breaks, I ended with 4 miles at a 9:19 pace. I can’t complain about that!

20120812-095218.jpg

I ran the bridge 2 1/2 times, and it felt awesome! I was able to keep a solid pace while enjoying my surroundings. I think I’m hooked! I’m thinking that I may have to make a weekend tradition of this run. Here’s a great view from the top of the bridge.

20120812-095429.jpg

And the best part? A quick stop at the beach after to enjoy the beautiful morning.

20120812-095516.jpg

As I said, I love where I live. Now I’m off to enjoy a nice Sunday with my boys. Wishing everyone a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

