{Pretty Girl with a Dirty Side}

Yup! That’s me! And a lot of other women too for that matter. As more and more women join the ranks of obstacle racing, I’d like to write a quick note for all of us that enjoy being feminine, but don’t mind getting down and dirty with the boys (& “chick” many of them too!).

Each weekday I get to dress up in a nice suit, put on makeup, do my hair, and go to work to live my corporate life; 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. And I really do enjoy it! Growing up, I remember saying that someday I wanted a job where I could dress up in pretty suits and look like the ladies in movies and TV’s, with their long legs, flowing hair, and professional prowess. Although I could not pinpoint what exactly it was that I wanted to be doing, I knew the look that I wanted.

Now that I am an adult, I have achieved that goal. I enjoy dressing up for work each day, just as much as I enjoy throwing on a pair of strappy heels and skinny jeans and dolling up for a ladies night out. It’s fun to be feminine, to feel pretty, and enjoy being a woman!

Being a female who also enjoys obstacle racing and mud runs is fun in the fact that I can get dolled up, but I have no issues running through mud and getting a bit dirty. I can easily transition from diamond earrings to muddy sneakers. And I really love that, in this day and age, I can be a tomboy AND a pretty girl! I don’t have to be one or the other, and I don’t have to risk my dignity to feel sexy, powerful, strong, empowered, or beautiful!

So for today, let’s hear it for the girls, the beautiful, powerful, strong yet happily dirty ones!

20120815-115401.jpg

2 thoughts on “{Pretty Girl with a Dirty Side}

    • They are all over the place! I live in Florida, and mostly run there, but I’m traveling to Pennsylvania in a few weeks for one, and will also be going to Georgia and the East Coast for races next year. Check out Spartan Race, Tough Mudder, & Warrior Dash! They (in my opinion) are the trailblazers for the sport, but as it gets more popular there are obstacle races and mud runs of all sizes all over! You should try one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

