{Active Recovery Day}

I’m going to be honest, this week has worn me out! So tomorrow I’m taking it easy. Being my last week to work myself hard before Hardcore Mudd Run, I’d prefer not to take a full recovery day quite yet, so I’m opting for active recovery instead. For those of you who aren’t familiar, active recovery is when you reduce your intensity level of your workout, so you are still working your body, but at an easy pace. You are not to push yourself to maximum capacity, make it an easy, more relaxed workout.

Here’s a workout I borrowed, and modified a bit, from a recent Spartan Race WOD. I’m thinking it should work perfectly!

50 body weight squats
20 push-ups
1 minute plank
50 lunges
20 burpees
50 crunches

It will be quick and efficient, get a good burn going, and be low intensity enough to qualify for “active recovery” status I believe.

The rest of the day will be devoted to work and family!

Before I go tonight, I have to share a photo I took this evening.

20120829-220934.jpg

My son was walking around the house in my husband’s sneakers, one of my running shirts, and posing saying “Look Mom! I’m running!!” Melted my heart! Here’s to hoping my lifestyle will help cultivate a love of running and fitness in my little guy.

Good night all!
~Holly

Leave a Reply

