{The Year In Review}

Monday October 8th will mark the one year anniversary of my first ever race, a local 5k that helped spark an intense love of racing in me that I never knew existed.

Now, as I look back at my journey, It’s amazing how far I’ve come in the last year, and I figured it would be appropriate to reflect on how my life has changed, and to share some of my favorite highlights as well.

I ran The Sunrise Run on October 8th, 2011. I had never run a race before, I had no idea how to fasten a chip timer to my shoe, I wasn’t sure when or where to line up, I was nervous, and I just wanted to prove to myself that I could run 3.1 miles without stopping.

20121006-201723.jpg

I finished my 5k. I loved every minute. I felt strong. I felt proud. I was hooked. With my boys cheering me on, I crossed that finish line into a new chapter of my life.

20121006-201940.jpg

Since that date, I have now run a total of 14 races, which include a handful of 5 and 10k’s, 6 obstacle races/mud runs, 1 trail run, and 1 half marathon.

Here are a few of my favorite moments:

Tough Mudder, my introduction to mud running last December. Each of our team of 5 was terrified of this race, but we pushed through, completed every obstacle, and felt so empowered when we finished. I went home from the event and immediately put my name on the waiting list to be emailed as soon as I could register again.

20121006-204038.jpg

St Pete Classic Duo. I got a PR for the 5k (that I still have yet to beat!), and ran my 1st ever 10k directly after! It was FREEZING cold! I tensed up my shoulders so badly that my neck hurt for days. Learned a valuable lesson about proper posture that day. Also, no eating greasy breakfast directly after a long race, it won’t sit well at all! Ugh!

20121006-204219.jpg

Warrior Dash. My friend Whitney & I wore zebra hats and painted stripes on our faces and bodies. We made an impression to say the least. 🙂

20121006-204254.jpg

Gasparilla Half Marathon. Need I really say much about this? I ran 13.1 freaking miles and got a pretty rad skull and crossbones medal to prove it. Crossing that finish line was amazing, I had accomplished something I never in a million years thought possible.

20121006-204429.jpg

Kiwanis Midnight 10k. This one was cool! A beautiful course along the beach on July 4th at midnight. Really a neat race!

Hardcore Mudd Run. The most physically and mentally challenging run I have ever completed. Probably the most challenging thing I’ve ever done, period. 8 brutal miles in the cold and driving rain with 9 climbs up a mountain and 20+ obstacles will really show you what you are made of. Our team’s 5.5 hour journey brought out our true strength and tenacity. Probably the run I’m currently most proud of myself for.

20121006-205221.jpg

And most recently, Beach Beast. 2 races in one weekend! Apparently that’s crazy. I ran Saturday with a girlfriend, and went back for more Sunday!

So what’s in store for me now? A ton! By October next year I plan to run many more amazing, memory making races, and hope to have completed my Spartan Trifecta! If you had told me last year at my first race where the next year would take me, I would not have believed you. But, I feel so blessed, so fortunate to have the gift to run and race, and love every racing memory I have made over the last year. I’m hoping for many many more racing years to come, and don’t plan to stop anytime soon!

So on that note, have a fantastic weekend everyone! May your journey be equally amazing.
~Holly

20121006-205719.jpg

2 thoughts on “{The Year In Review}

  1. You are so inspiring! I just started running in August. Did the Beach Beast as my first race and just signed up for Pretty Muddy. Congrats on your accomplishments this pass year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

