{Back to Basics}

I have to be honest. The last couple of weeks I feel like I have lost my mojo! It’s really not much fun, and I’ve found myself with little motivation to get out of bed in the morning to run or workout. Granted, I still do drag myself out the door, but it hasn’t been with the same enthusiasm or vigor that I usually have. As I explained to my husband, I just feel worn down.

It brought me to thinking, “How can I motivate others, when I don’t even feel motivated myself?”

This lack of motivation has lead me to do some pondering as to why this may be happening, and I’ve come to a couple of conclusions.

First, I recently got a big promotion at work that has kept me extremely busy. I love the new opportunity! But my brain has been whirling lately as I’ve been cramming copious amounts of new data into it on a daily basis. That alone wears me out and has lefty drained of energy!

Second, I am afraid that I am my own toughest critic. Being so new to blogging, and learning to manage Twitter, Facebook, and my blog has lead me to compare myself to other blogs, as well as to be hard on myself when I do not feel that I’m reaching people in the way that I hope. It also has made me push myself to be better and more competitive, which is great, but I think I left behind the enjoyment of simply just running and feeling great. I pushed myself so hard to be this amazing inspiration, and put so much pressure on myself, that I think I lost my own inspiration in the process.

So I’ve decided it’s time to get back to the basics, to find a healthy balance, and to start fresh. To run, not because I feel that I have to, but because I want to. To race, not out of a feeling of obligation, but because I love the thrill. To quit comparing my blog to others, and my success to the success of others, and remember that my ultimate goal with all of this is to simply inspire others to get active and do something fun. I cannot do that unless I’m having fun myself! I want my writing to be authentic, from the heart, and inspiring, and to keep doing that I need to make sure that I also inspire myself by never letting go of the love of the run for the chase of notoriety, or for the feeling of obligation.

This weekend I am running the Braveheart Challenge (part of Squish Squash Challenges) with a girlfriend of mine. We made a pact this week that this one is just for fun. No worries about timing or where we place overall, but instead a fun day to make new memories and have a great experience. Of course it will challenge us, and push us outside of our comfort zone at times, but we have agreed not to push too hard, and to simply enjoy the day.

In the spirit of Braveheart, we are wearing kilts! And how can you not have a great time while rocking a kilt in the mud?

My promise to myself, and to you, is to refocus and remember why I love so much to run and race, and then to keep encouraging you, my reader, to also step out of your comfort zone, and do something that makes you feel awesome.

Phew! It felt good to get that off my shoulders! I’m going for a run tonight, I’m not worrying about time or pace. And you know what? I’m really looking forward to it. πŸ™‚

Have a great day everyone!
~Holly

6 thoughts on “{Back to Basics}

  1. This is just a thought but taking a “break” may also refresh you. I can never get myself to take a week from exercising completely but I have “toned it down” for a week before and came back so refreshed and ready to “kill it.” Good luck!!

    Like

  2. After training so hard for your mud/obstacle races (and getting a promotion!), I think it’s only natural to feel like you need a break. It’s a good idea of return to your “running roots” so to say this weekend with a fun race. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I feel ya. I have been on a slight blog hiatus until I feel like I get to a point where I have the time to really put some thought into my posts. Some posts really take a long time to write for me. Now, it’s just a quick update and more twittering.

    Like

Leave a Reply

