{A New Decade}

In less than 48 hours, I will wave goodbye to my 20s, and officially enter a new decade of life.

To be honest the first half of my 20s was pretty rocky. I was unsure of who I was, what I wanted, went through a young marriage and subsequently a young divorce, battled insecurity and uncertainty, moved across the country to start my life over, and searched endlessly for an identity I hoped to finally call my own. I’m sure this is not too uncommon of many of us that look back on our 20s, and now that I have the opportunity to reflect, I’m happy to have survived in a fairly baggage free, slightly wiser, & definitely better off place than the decade began.

There is an old saying I grew up hearing that goes, “In like a lion, out like a lamb”, which is in reference to the month of March and what to expect for the Michigan weather. Just like it states, if the weather arrived in early March aggressive and angry like a lion, we would assume the the end of the month would be mild and pleasant (and vice versa). I also feel as though this saying accurately depicts my 20s. There were many dramatic, emotional, and intense times, but the insanity gradually ebbed as I travelled onward through the years.

I find myself today, reflecting on the fact that I will no longer be “in my 20s” in two short days. I’ve seen a wide range of emotions from a few people I know as they have been about to turn 30. Some fight it, some get upset, some feel like they are “getting old”, and some don’t mind a bit! Me? I feel…. at peace. I am fortunate to have the love of an amazing husband, I am blessed with a beautiful child, I have a great job and promising career, and I have a hobby that I love (not to mention I’m in the best shape of my life and i get to meet awesome and inspiring people on a regular basis!).

So I’m okay with 30! Much more than I ever thought I would be! And to be honest, there’s a small part of me that is ready to put my 20s behind me and begin a fantastic new decade of adventure and amazing experiences, all while having the security of finally having found my identity.

It’s a pretty darn good feeling 🙂

~Holly

PS. My hubby just surprised me… We are running the Color Run this weekend as a family! So excited! So blessed 🙂

5 thoughts on “{A New Decade}

  1. Oh I felt the same as I entered my 30’s Everything before that was rough. I have to say I have been loving my 30’s so far!!!!! Happy early birthday and here is to your 30’s being as phenomenal as mine!!!!!

    Like

  2. I can totally relate to your early 20s too! I’ll be 28 on Christmas, but I spent 20-25 in bad relationships, moving all over the country from CA to TN to FL multiple times, and really trying to figure out who I was. I am on the downhill to 30 and am beginning to feel so much better about life and I’m actually looking forward to 30! (I say this today – ask me in 1 year 364 more days haha!)

    Like

  3. Happy Birthday! I will be 30 in April and have been struggling with it quite a bit lately. Still trying to figure out who I am and what I want I have made lots of changes in the last year and hope to make more next year.

    Like

  4. I just turned 30 this year and for some reason had a really hard time with it. Same sort of story; married young, divorced young. But it is just now that I am realizing what I want out of life. I feel better than ever, look better than ever, am way more conscious of my health. Personally, I think 30 is an awesome age! Enjoy!! 🙂 GGS ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

