{Friday Morning Boot Camp!}

This week I was invited to attend an early morning, butt kicking boot camp session hosted by a trainer from Camp Gladiator.

Camp Gladiator offers boot camp style classes at many locations nationwide (over 200!), and is a great way to get out, challenge yourself, and meet new people striving for a fit and active lifestyle!

I’ve been wanting to try a boot camp style workout for a while, so when asked I figured what better opportunity than to give this a try! So last night I set my alarm for 4:45am, set out my yoga mat and weights, and prepared for a morning of butt busting training!

Most people probably think getting up at 4:45am on a Friday morning to workout sounds terrible, but being the fitness nerd that I am, I found myself awake a few minutes prior to my alarm sounding this morning. I always get excited for a new fitness experience similar to how I get amped up on race day. It’s something new, something fresh, and I find it refreshing to change things up once in a while. Although I do have days that I have to drag myself slowly and begrudgingly out of bed, today I was excited and ready to go!

I arrived at the St Pete Pier (our boot camp location) a few minutes early, and was able to chat a bit with our trainer Megan. She was friendly, upbeat, and not a bit concerned about the early hour or the chill in the air. She had great party-style music playing, and was ready to get us pumped up!

Dawn, the woman who referred me, arrived shortly after, we confirmed that the typically larger group would be just us three today, and got to work!

Now I consider myself to be in pretty good shape, but this workout was intense! We did burpees, lunges, push-ups, planks, used kettle bells and a medicine ball, and worked till all of our muscles burned! Megan provided us with great modifications to the exercises if needed, and cheered us on to push ourselves to the limit. It was a really great workout! I left energized, enthused, and a new fan of Camp Gladiator!

20130125-143127.jpg

I definitely think I may have to sign up for a boot camp course, as I think it would be a great addition to my training! And don’t worry, these classes accommodate all fitness levels, they are worth a try, I’m sure you’d love it too!

Still jazzed and enjoying my Friday! Have a great weekend everyone!
~Holly

Leave a Reply

