{5K PR & a Renewed Beginning}

There’s nothing like a PR to renew your drive to pick up the training and get back into the swing of things!

The past few weeks have been spent at a more casual pace. I’d say that I’ve been working out, not necessarily training. And while its good to remain active in times when motivation is lacking so as to maintain fitness, the time comes when it’s time to regain motivation and step it back up to work toward improvement.

I have learned that training is like a roller coaster, there are highs and lows, there are days when I spring out of bed eager to run for miles, and there are days that I curse the alarm when it goes off. I’m human, and although you may not think so, I do have a love/hate relationship with getting up early to train. Thankfully, I love running enough that even on my low days, I still get out of bed, lace up my shoes, and hit the road, if even for a couple of miles.

This past weekend, I was pleasantly surprised with a 5k PR! Having not been training very hard recently, I was chalking this race up to a fun 5k focused on family and the love of the run. Well I was thrilled to not only love the run, but also run my fastest 5k to date!

Located at the gorgeous John Chestnut Park in Palm Harbor, Florida, the course followed along the wooded drive, shading us from the sun and making the humidity a bit less miserable. I completed the first mile at a solid pace of 8:13, and I felt great! Knowing at that point I could pick up the pace, I revved up and was elated when next two miles were both completed at sub 8 minute paces!

Throughout the race I “chased” moms with strollers, and women older than me, thinking to myself that if they could run this fast, then so could I. I’m not sure if my habit of “chasing” people is normal, but it sure does work well for me on race day! I pick a target, and then do my best to surpass them. If I do, I pick a new target and go from there! If I don’t, I am happy to do my best to pace with a great runner. It’s actually kind of fun, and creates an added challenge!

Final 5k time, 25:31! It was awesome being in the presence of so many fantastic fit moms, their inspired kids, and a great group of supportive dads on Mother’s Day. It made me proud to be a part of this great group of running mommas.

20130513-205523.jpg

The 5k was great, and a 1/2 mile kids race followed. This was a really great family event, one that I would definitely to do again!

Now I’m ready to train again! Not just workout, but really train. The road is calling, and I think a long run is in order tomorrow morning!

Feels good to be back 🙂
~Holly

20130513-205900.jpg

Leave a Reply

