{2013: Year in Review}

Wow, 2013 has been a really great year!  Marking only my 2nd full year of racing, I have to say that I’m very proud of my accomplishments, and in my own personal growth which I’ve worked hard to achieve over the past 12 months.  Since 2014 is looming just around the corner, and my racing season has officially come to a close, I wanted to share the highlights of a year spent racing.  It’s fun to look back at all of the great events I was able to be a part of, all the while making many new wonderful memories and acquiring fantastic new friends along the way.  Here we go!

Twenty-eight. That is the final number of races that I participated in this year.  Cool huh? It definitely filled my months with colorful experiences, and ensured that no weekend this year was in any way boring.  Although the overall mileage is a bit muddled, since many of the races usually end up at some sort of “ish” number (You know the drill, “5-ish miles of gut wrenching, most intense experiences EVER!”) , but even though it’s tough to nail down the exact mileage run, I estimate that the total racing mileage is somewhere between 140-150 miles.  Not too shabby.

Of those 28 races, 17 were obstacle races/mud runs, and 4 were themed 5Ks (Glow Run, Flavor Run, Mustache Dache, & Hog Wild Ugly Sweater Run).  As for road races, I ran one 5K, one 5 miler, two 10Ks, and one half marathon.  I also tried out a super fun, laid back Triathlon (beach cruisers and floaties encouraged is a great way to try your first tri!), and finished out the year with a 10 mile trail run. Lots of unique events, hosted on all spectrum’s of the racing world.

This year I not only ran races in Florida, but I also participated in races in Georgia, Pennsylvania, and Ohio.

As my racing schedule progressed through the year, I was thrilled to find myself earning a coveted podium position on a few occasions this year! (Something I NEVER thought possible). I still consider myself very new to racing, so this year marks a year of huge personal progress and accomplishment.  I’m loving that I can finally feel confident enough to run competitively, and that I can also hold my own against some fantastic competitors.

Pardon me while I brag a bit, but here are some moments that I am particularly proud of this year: I placed 3rd in AG at Hog Wild Mud Run 3: Crazy 80s, 4th overall female and 1st in AG at Hog Wild Mud Run: 18 Holes of Hell, 3rd place overall female and 2nd in AG at Mud Endeavor, 2nd in AG at Hog Wild Mud Run 4, and most recently, finished 1st place overall at Pretty Muddy! Being the first person to cross that finish line was an amazing feeling that I will not soon forget.  In addition to that I was able to acheive 5k, 10K, and half marathon PRs this year!

So, in a nutshell, it’s been a great year!  I’m already working on building my 2014 racing schedule, and I’m so excited for what the new year has to bring.

Enough about me, now to you!  THANK YOU for following my journey, and being a part of this exciting, fun, crazy adventure.  You help motivate me, and to keep me striving to continually better myself.  I hope my experiences can also inspire you to create your own adventures, to live healthy, happy lives, and to cherish each moment to its fullest.

Happy New Year to all of you!  Let’s make it a great one.  🙂

~Holly

Image

One thought on “{2013: Year in Review}

  1. Pingback: {2014 Year Review & A Look Ahead} | Muddy Mommy

Leave a Reply

