{Work Life Balance}

It occured to me this morning while driving home from an early morning Orangetheory Fitness class, that it has been a while since my last update. Although my recent silence has not been entirely intentional, I must admit that a step back from feeling the obligation of blogging has provided a much needed break. It seems that my life had recently become a cycle of working my 9-5 job, then heading home to bury my head straight into writing – whether that be for the Spartan blog or my own – leaving little time for me to feel that I could truly enjoy the things that mean most to me in life – my family, friends, home, and fitness.

Having said that, this in no way means that this blog is going anywhere! As racing lulls due to the heat of Summer, my training has taken an interesting shift as I’ve joined a new gym and have begun dabbling in more power-based training which includes a greater focus on heavier weights, and not as much on cardio. Let me tell you, I never thought I’d enjoy flipping tires, deadlifts, battle ropes, and sled drags as much as I do! It’s been nice to switch things up, and I’m excited to see how my shift in training will affect my racing this fall as I look to earn my Spartan Trifecta, tackle the Battlefrog Extreme, and race to my heart’s content at a few of my favorite local events.

As I continue to evaluate my own balance between work, life, training, racing, and blogging, you may notice longer stretches of silence from this platform, but I’m not going anywhere anytime soon! I’m committed to doing my best to continue sharing inspiration, motivation, and great memories made at races, all while making sure the dishes are clean, the laundry is folded, and my family is taken care of.

Keep training hard this summer everyone! I’ll be checking back in again soon!

~Holly

One thought on “{Work Life Balance}

  1. This is a challenge we all face. Being an entrepreneur with a huge passion for what I do has also put me in this scenario. My wife Tracy Trombley has to remind me every now and then to take a step back and breathe! Love her for allowing me to strive for my goals and keeping me in check with the family. MUDRUNFUN

    Like

Leave a Reply

