{Product Review: Reebok All Terrain 2.0}

Just a few short years ago, it seemed as though the general concensus regarding what shoes to wear during an obstacle race was to simply locate an old, well-worn pair of sneakers which you would then proceed to destroy and discard on race weekend. Yet it didn’t take long for people to realize that slipping and sliding all over obstacles and ragged terrain on less than practical footwear did not make very much sense.

Enter the obstacle racing shoe. It began with avid OCR enthustiasts repurposing their trail running shoes to also tackle obstacles, but it didn’t take long for the realization that although these shoes provided much better traction than their well-used gym shoe counterparts, they also became easily weighted down when water and mud saturated the shoe. It was then that companies began desigining shoes that could handle technical terrain with ease, provide traction on slick obstacles, and drain access water quickly and efficiently.

When Reebok solidified their relationship with Spartan Race in January of 2013, it became apparent that an OCR shoe specifically made to tackle a Spartan course was much needed, and much desired. Not long after the All Terrain was born. As the first of its kind, it offered incredible innovations by providing a lightweight shoe with drainage ports for quick and easy water extraction along with underside lugs which aided obstacle traction. There was incredible buzz for this innovative shoe, yet as the first edition there were also a few minor issues that presented themselves. While the shoe is widely enjoyed by many racers, some have found them to be too narrow and lacking the support which they desired. Others felt that the shoe did not last as long as they hoped, as they sought footwear that would endure the beating of a high number of races.

Spartan Race, Shoe Review

I heart new OCR shoes!

Reebok took this feedback to heart and commited to making the changes necessary to create an even better shoe than the original, thus bringing to life the All Terrain 2.0.

When I received my pair of All Terrain 2.0 a few weeks ago, I immediately pulled out my original pair of All Terrain Super to do a side-by-side comparison. I quickly noticed that that the tongue of the shoe had been replaced with a more comfortable fabric that also appeared less likely to slip to the side. The sides of the shoes also appeared to have additional reinforcement so as to avoid the blowouts that had caused issues for many with the initial edition. The water drainage ports, lugged outsole, and midsole obstacle grip remained the same, a fact I was pleased to notice as these features – in my humble opinion – have always performed exactly as they should.

Now I do not feel that I can provide an OCR shoe a true review without running in it first, and I’ve been fortunate to run two very different races in the All Terrain 2.0 this summer. The first was a half marathon trail race, which provided the experience of longer distance paired with muddy tracks and winding, root-filled trails. Despite having no obstacles, this race proved to be a great test for the All Terrain 2.0. Next up was a 5K OCR which was shorter on distance, but heavy on obstacles. The combination of these races provided me the opportunity to gauge how these shoes would handle distance, technical terrain, and obstacles.

Reebok All Terrain Super vs. 2.0

Side-by-side comparison – All Terrain Super vs 2.0

Here are a few takeaways that I have from racing in the Reebok All Terrain 2.0:

  • They provide quality traction. I did not have any issues with the shoes being too slick on obstacles. They performed well on walls – both slanted and perpendicular to the ground – as well as on multiple types of terrain. I felt confident in these shoes, and did not doubt their ability to perform as I tackled differences in terrain and a variety of obstacles.
  • Drainage is on point. I love the drainage ports of the All Terrain shoes. I have yet to find an OCR shoe which provides better drainage.
  • They yield minimalistic support. If you prefer additional support, you may have trouble with these shoes if you utilize them for long distance races. Although I prefer to go fairly minimal, my arches were achy for a few days after the half marathon. They were great throughout the shorter distance of the obstacle race, therefore I would recommend them for events which offer less mileage.
  • They are a great OCR shoe. All-in-all, the slight alterations made from the initial model to the 2.0 did make the shoes slightly more comfortable without changing the traction and drainage that I find to be the best features of these shoes.

Overall I am very pleased with the All Terrain 2.0, and they are a shoe that I plan to utilize at several of my upcoming races. While I’ll stick to a shoe which provides a bit more cushion longer distance races, I feel confident in the 2.0s ability to perform during the upcoming OCR events I plan to attend. I’m always happy to see a company take the feedback it receives to make quality improvements, and I feel that Reebok did just that. I’m looking forward to seeing what else they have in store for the OCR and Spartan community in the future!

To find your perfect pair of Reebok All Terrain 2.0, click here and purchase a pair for your next OCR!

~Holly

Thank you to the folks at Reebok for providing a pair of the Reebok All Terrain 2.0 to test and review. All opinions stated in this review are my own and I am not receiving reimbursement for sharing my point of view. 

At Gator Mud Run, Trojan Race Series in Waldo Florida

Rocking my All Terrain 2.0!

Leave a Reply

