Product Review: Reebok All Terrain OR

I’ve had several opportunities to review Reebok’s line of All Terrain obstacle racing shoes, and I’ve enjoyed the many unique features that this innovative product has provided. The shoes are lightweight, they drain water like a champ, and they provide quality traction on obstacles and technical terrain.

Reebok All Terrain Post Race

However, that’s not to say that they have not suffered their fair share of issues. I experienced this firsthand after the sides of both shoes blew out during last fall’s Spartan Beast in South Carolina, resulting in large rips which exposed my feet to the elements. I had heard the rumblings of disappointment over this exact issue, however after owning several pairs of the All Terrain, this was the first time that I had personally experienced any problems.

As any concerns have arisen, Reebok has been quick to re-evaluate and refresh their product by releasing updated versions of the All Terrain. I respect a company that will use constructive criticism as a means to improve, and I truly believe that Reebok has dedicated a fantastic product to the obstacle racing enthusiast.

I recently received Reebok‘s newest version of their signature OCR shoe, the All Terrain OR, and was eager to give them a solid test. My first opportunity came at one of my favorite local events, Mud Endeavor. This race, while shorter in distance, is riddled with steep hills, thick mud, water crossings, and a multitude of varied obstacles; I knew this would be a great event to put the All Terrain OR to the test!

Reebok OR Mid Race

Excellent water drainage is one of my favorite features of the Reebok All Terrain!

The shoes themselves carry a strong resemblance to their predecessors, and boast the following great features:

  • CORDURA┬« skin upper for abrasion protection and durability
  • Speed lacing system for a quick and customizable fit
  • Low-profile CMEVA midsole for lightweight responsiveness and cushion
  • Built-in midfoot drain for shedding water after wet crossings
  • Square, indented lugged outsole for 360-degree traction
  • Sticky rubber compound on the outsole for improved grip
  • Antimicrobial lining and updated graphics for odor control and fresh style

All-in-all, I experienced the same level of enjoyment that I have with previous All Terrain products. The shoes performed well, providing excellent traction and drainage throughout the course. Post-race I saw no evidence of premature wear along the upper mesh. My sole minor complaint would be that the speed lacing system would not stay tight, and I found myself forced to re-tighten the laces continually throughout the race.

The Reebok All Terrain provides a practical, functional shoe for the OCR enthusiast, and I’m looking forward to testing the OR on a longer course to see how they hold up. However I have to say… so far so good, I’m a fan!

~Holly

I’d like to thank Reebok for providing me with a complimentary pair of the All Terrain OR to test and review. The opinions stated above are solely my own, and I am not being compensated further for this review.

 

Leave a Reply

